nohanii: (Default)
[personal profile] nohanii
Honestly, Christmas this year was pretty terrible. My parents, aunts, uncles and grandparents spent all day talking about politics and the economy and how everything is the fault of those damn liberals (I'm a liberal). My sister was in extreme amounts of pain today due to her condition, so she was at the dinner table for about three minutes before she left to take a hot bath to help relax her muscles.  When she was done, Geena, Nick and I gave her about an hour long massage while we chatted and caught up with each other and got to know Geena better. My mom came in an hour and a half after us and told us we had to come out and socialize, and that we were being spoiled brats because we weren't. She tried to guilt trip us by saying our grandparents are in their seventies and won't be around forever. Nick and I came out, then after being ignored for 20 minutes (during which time Kelly, Geena and one aunt and uncle left) I was subjected to an inane conversation with an aunt I don't really care for about subjects that I really couldn't care less about (students she's teaching braille to, her friend's daughter goes to Tulane and OMG it snowed there!), and Mom came and sat in front of me and told me I could retreat back to the room. I am apparently a much better person now for putting up with my aunt. I HATE spending time with the woman. She talks about things she really doesn't understand, takes over private conversations that she wasn't involved in, and is just really annoying overall. 

Mom doesn't understand Kelly's situation. She thinks Kelly's going to get better and be able to go off all her pain medications and blah blah blah. I'm pretty sure she doesn't completely believe the extent of Kelly's problems. I asked Mom if I could take Kelly and Geena back to San Jose so Kelly would have access to a better bed (sleeping poorly on and uncomfortable bed spells doom for her the next day), and she said no. When asked why, she said no. Hello! I'm 21 years old, I think I deserve a straight answer when I ask for one. Kelly and Geena aren't spending the night here anyway, how would taking them back to San Jose be so different?

 My parents apparently "don't believe in" global warming. And they've infected my youngest brother with their idiocy. My aunt sounds like she doesn't believe global warming is the fault of humans because there are natural cycles of global warming/cooling and points to the ice ages as her evidence. My mom comments on the weather and says things like, "global warming, riiiiight." I'm just so flabergasted that my parents can be so... dumb. My dad basically compared believing in global warming to believing that the sun revolved around the earth.

My aunt and uncle arrived today and took over the room that my brothers and I were sharing, so we've been kicked out and now we have to sleep in the livingroom. I've been wanting to sleep for the last two hours, but noooo, they're still out here, currently having a loud conversation about global warming. So, I've been kicked out of a room I already occupied and told I can sleep in the livingroom, but I'm being prevented from sleeping because they're having a conversation that's going nowhere.  IT'S ALMOST ONE AM, LET ME SLEEP, DAMNIT!

I am just so tired of my family being so idiotic. I would so much rather be out with my friends in San Jose or back with my boyfriend in SoCal. I hate hearing their whining and scapegoating and crap all the time. I am so done with it.

Kelly, Nick and Geena: The highlight of my day was spending time with you guys during Kelly's massage. I love you all. Merry Christmas. 

I sincerely hope your day was better than mine. Merry Christmas everyone. 

Date: 2008-12-26 03:50 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] http://users.livejournal.com/nostalgia__/
haha...my parents/family always talk about the "damn liberals." even though i'm not liberal (i consider myself moderate, though i'm very liberal compared to my parents), it really grates on my nerves. i usually have to leave the room when my mom starts talking about how bush has been such a great president and how this country will realize how great he was once obama gets into office. so yeah...i can relate to how you feel.

i'm sorry you had a bad christmas. i hope the rest of your christmas break is better :]

Date: 2008-12-27 08:56 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] honeystix.livejournal.com
Gah apparently my *entire family* does it, including my youngest brother (who is only 14). It's just so frustrating to here them go on and on aout how everything is the fault of liberals because Bush is infallile (to my dad, at least), and especially so on Christmas when we're supposed to be having family time. This is one reason why we hid in the back room.

Today was a lot better. I'll post about it soon.

Profile

nohanii: (Default)
Catherine

August 2011

S M T W T F S
  1234 56
7 89 10111213
141516171819 20
2122 2324252627
28293031   

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 10:00 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios