nohanii: (Default)
[personal profile] nohanii
Tatiana really makes me want to slap her. Hard.

She can be cool and fun, and then she can turn around in an instant and turn into a bitchy brat. She's always been this way with her mother -- her mother who has done everything for her, from feeding to cleaning to chauffeuring her around town and giving her money whenever she put her hand out for the last 19 years. Sandy did all this for her, her daughter, then Tatiana turns around and tells her what a horrible mother she is for the slightest "infraction." She got better for a while after her parents separated and Sandy moved out -- and Juan's girlfriend basically moved in. Tatiana started hanging out with her mother a lot more and seemed to treat her better than ever, though still not great. Sometime in the last few months though, she mostly reverted to her old behavior. She'll make plans with her mother to go out, then call and cancel because she's sick -- only when her mother called to check up on her, she'd gone out with her friends! And when Sandy has to reject Tatiana's plans because she's too busy, Tatiana gets unreasonably upset. "Pissed off," as Sandy describes it. Now she's yelling at Sandy in public about taking Juan's money (which he owes her, by the way, and why Juan is telling Tatiana about this is beyond me) and in general acting like the spoiled brat she is.

Not only has she reverted, she's getting worse. She's targeting me and Dan now, too.

Dan and I went to his dad's house on Thursday evening after Thanksgiving dinner. We didn't eat anything that night because we were still pretty stuffed from Thanksgiving. The next morning, we slept in late (got up at 11am) and had leftovers for breakfast, then we got dressed and went to his mom's condo. We hung out with her for a bit, then Tatiana showed up. The first words out of her mouth were "What's for dinner." Not a question. A demand. Keep in mind that this is a 19-almost-20-year-old. Sandy replied that she was going out with friends, and Dan and I sure as hell weren't going to cook for her, not with that entitled attitude. So Tatiana sat there sulking while Sandy wrapped a birthday present for Bailey (a neighbor girl that Sandy cared for). Sandy asked Tatiana to deliver the gift on Saturday since Sandy would be out of town and thus unable to give it to Bailey herself. (Sandy has very good reasons why she would rather avoid that family, reasons which Tatiana likely knows but thinks her mom made up.) Tatiana completely refused to do this one simple thing for her mother and implied that Sandy had abandoned Bailey by moving out, and that Bailey wouldn't remember Sandy and and and. SHUT UP ALREADY. So Sandy merely asked Dan and I to deliver it, and we graciously said we would. Tatiana sulked around for a few minutes longer, steadfastly ignored by the three of us, then she gave up on her quest for attention and left. The gift left with her.

Sandy had to leave after that, so Dan and I went out. We came back to the house armed with a CPK frozen pizza and salad fixings for dinner. After making our no-mess dinner, we headed upstairs to watch Die Hard and eat. Tatiana annouced that if Dan loaded our dishes in the dishwasher, she would run it and put them away. Sounds reasonable, right? Wrong. The kitchen sink was full of dishes. Literally two bowls, two mugs and two forks were ours from dinner. We had none from making dinner aside from a knife used to cut the tomatoes and pizza. I just washed our dishes while Dan was busy elsewhere and left it at that. We once again woke up late on Saturday (~10am this time). Dan had Thanksgiving leftovers again, and I had microwave taquitos. I washed all of our dishes from breakfast as well as any that I had missed from the night before. When I finished, the sink was still pretty well stacked with dishes, but they weren't ours. Tatiana once again bugged us to "do our dishes." We ignored her (because they were already done) and left for the day to celebrate out anniversary. When we got back to the house Sunday morning, Tatiana came thudding downstairs while we were eating and announced "You better have done the dishes!" like we were wayward children ignoring their mother's instructions. When she walked in and saw that the sink was still full, she told us that we were "the worst houseguests ever." I replied "most hosts don't expect their guests to do chores" and went on to explain that they weren't ours and that they had in fact been sitting in the sink since before we arrived at the house on Thursday evening. Her response was, "well they're not mine" (like that automatically made them our responsibility??). I just... I'm flabbergasted that she treated us like stupid children when she can't seem to take care of anything by herself -- and she's almost 20 years old!
In short, Tatiana needs to get off her fucking high horse and live in the real world where she has responsibilities and respect for both of her parents.

Key:
Tatiana = Dan's little sister
Sandy = Dan's mom
Juan = Dan's dad
Sandra = Dan's older sister
Matt = Dan's brother-in-law, Sandra's husband

Argh I really don't feel like this post conveys how Tatiana actually acts on a daily basis. Her behavior, especially towards her mother, is appalling. Literally everything that goes wrong is her mothers fault whether or not it actually is, and Tatiana has no compunction about making the world know all her mother's supposed faults and how horrible her mother is and how her mother has failed her this time. She also enjoys telling Sandy how dumb, annoying, and embarassing she is. I would have been dead meat if I'd ever spoken to my mother like that, but Tatiana gets away with it scott free. It is absolutely apalling. I really want to call her on her behavior, but I feel like that's out of line since she's neither my sister nor my friend.

Date: 2009-12-01 01:51 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] fox-murphy.livejournal.com
Holy crap. Like you said, if I ever tried anything like that with my mum I think I'd have been killed on the spot. Or at least soundly beaten. I'd say it continues to disappoint me that younger people tend to be losing the concept of respect for authority (especially your parents, who have done all sorts of inconvenient things for you) but she's my age! *shudders* Far too old to be acting like that. To her Mum or to you guys. It's just a shame, really, that common courtesy escapes some people.
Edited Date: 2009-12-01 01:53 am (UTC)

Date: 2009-12-01 11:06 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] honeystix.livejournal.com
Exactly. I am appalled and ashamed every time she (or anyone else) pulls that shit. I keep telling her mother to not let her get away with it, but she won't do anything. I don't understand it at all. =/

Date: 2009-12-02 04:03 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] fox-murphy.livejournal.com
She honestly sounds like an older version of a girl I babysat last summer (the girl in question was seven at the time, mind you). At one point the girl locked us out of the house and then somehow blamed me. Her parents wanted her to stay home, rather than go play at her neighbor's house, and they told her this and they told me this. And she still had these epic tantrums (objects were thrown. I was bitten. The kid was seven. I was like, really?) whenever I wouldn't let her go over there. =/ And the pay was rubbish.

So yeah. I'm seeing some disconcerting parallels lol.

Date: 2009-12-02 07:10 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] honeystix.livejournal.com
Eww... I babysat a girl that was pretty bad, but nowhere near that horrible. Like... she constantly tried to kick her puppy, bad. YAY, LACK OF PARENTING.

Date: 2009-12-02 08:23 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] fox-murphy.livejournal.com
I think their dog might have been the only living thing this girl was ever nice to - and that thing was so old it was literally in diapers. Kicking it might have killed it.

Yeah pretty much! The last day on the job I wanted to leave a note when I picked up my paycheck that said "BTW, YOUR PARENTING FAILS."

Date: 2009-12-03 12:44 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] honeystix.livejournal.com
Oh man, you totally should have left that note. Me, too for that matter.

Date: 2009-12-01 02:35 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] roie.livejournal.com
I HATE PEOPLE LIKE THAT!!
My mother is a freak of fuckin' nature and treats me as if I'm some burden rather than a child, when I see kids treat their mom's like that it realllllly pisses me off.

Someone should back slap her hard hard hard.

Date: 2009-12-01 11:23 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] honeystix.livejournal.com
I DO, TOO!!

Believe me, I wish I could. And it pisses me off even more because her mom just takes it, and her dad and siblings and even her friends never tell hew how inappropriate she is.

Date: 2009-12-01 04:22 am (UTC)
subluxate: Sophia Bush leaning against a piano (Default)
From: [personal profile] subluxate
She sounds not unlike Matthew.

Date: 2009-12-01 10:54 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] honeystix.livejournal.com
Matthew, as far as I recall, doesn't have a tendency to browbeat Mom and tell her off in front of her friends. Matthew is annoying; Tatiana is appalling. And nobody calls her on her shit ever.

Date: 2009-12-01 08:02 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] askingxalice.livejournal.com
Goddamn, I hate people who are so fucking ungrateful to their parents, or just people in general. Hell, I feel extremely ashamed when I think of how I acted when I was younger and a little demon.

Permission to bitch slap this girl?

Date: 2009-12-01 11:52 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] honeystix.livejournal.com
I don't understand people like this, especially when their parents are actually good parents. It's completely different if the parents treat the kids like crap, but it they take care of the kids and teach them about life? There's just no reason for this behavior, and it's driving me mad.

Oh yes, please do!

Profile

nohanii: (Default)
Catherine

August 2011

S M T W T F S
  1234 56
7 89 10111213
141516171819 20
2122 2324252627
28293031   

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 04:38 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios