nohanii: (Default)
[personal profile] nohanii
ZOMG I'LL BE A COLLEGE GRADUATE IN ONE MONTH. This time next month, I will have already walked across the stage, gotten my diploma, and celebrated with my family. Ah, it's so exciting and scary! Exciting because I'll finally be done with UCI and I'll have a chance to be an ~adult for about a year before I go back to being a student, scary because holy crap real world. I have a ridiculous amount of stuff to get done before the end of the summer. I need to study for and take the GRE (thankfully, no subject tests required!); work with a vet for 180+ hours; get letters of recommendation from the zoo, said veterinarian, and a professor; fill out vet school applications; write a personal statement... am I forgetting anything?

Oh and GOOD NEWS: I definitely have a job with LARC this summer, and because I'll be a college graduate, I'll be an ~*~advanced~*~ tutor instead of a measly peer tutor, I get paid more.  I'm tutoring N110 (neurobiology) again during Summer Session I, and Bio 37 (Brain Dysfunction) for Professor Anson (whom I heart) during SSII!!! So, I'll be doing the same work I do now for more hours every week, AND for more pay!! The only drawback I see is it cuts into time I can spend with a veterinarian, but I'll just have to work it out so I can tutor and spend as much time as possible with a vet. 


Relationship-wise: Things between Dan and I have been AMAZING. I honestly can't wait to see him when we are separated by class (is that weird?), just seeing him and hugging him is enought make me happy. He's so supportive and loving; I'm a lucky gal to have him. At any rate, we are thinking about getting an apartment in Huntington Beach when our leases here are up at the end of August. EXCITING, but I feel ambivalent about it. I love him to itty bitty pieces, but I've always felt that I don't want us to live together until we get married because it will be more... special? that way. Even though we practically live together right now anyway (he's at my house nearly every night, but all of his stuff is at his apartment). Moving in together is a huge step, nearly as big as getting hitched. I'd just like the two big events to coincide, ya' know? Alternatively, we could get a two-bedroom apartment, with me in one bedroom and him and a roommate in the other. That way, we're living together but not really? Oh rationalizations, how I love thee. 

Date: 2009-05-14 09:21 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] sensorium.livejournal.com
How do you like UCI? I'm starting there in the fall for a CS PhD/Masters.

I didn't really feel like moving in with Chris before marriage was a big deal, but I think that's because we'd dated for 3 or so years before that and I felt like we were already married. But marriage isn't such a big deal for me--that's just how I feel; there's no real right way to feel about it, though.

Date: 2009-05-14 04:43 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] honeystix.livejournal.com
UCI's nothing special - it's mainly a commuter school, so there's very little school spirit. That, and Irvine's kind of lame. Practically everything closes by 9pm, so you have to go elsewhere if you want a nightlife.

Dan and I have been dating for nearly 3 1/2 years now. I want to live with him because I love and adore him (and I don't like my roommates), but at the same time I feel like it might detract from the whole getting married experience, which in my mind has always included finally moving in together. It's just something to think about at this point.

Date: 2009-05-16 06:26 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] sensorium.livejournal.com
You are not encouraging at Irvine D:

Date: 2009-05-16 06:45 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] honeystix.livejournal.com
heh, sorry? I could lie if you'd like? Irvine is fantastic! I never ever want to live anywhere else because Irvine is so awesome in everyway imaginable!

Date: 2009-05-16 08:41 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] sensorium.livejournal.com
Yes, yes, that's much better :P

Date: 2009-05-16 06:50 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] honeystix.livejournal.com
The school is good, no doubt about it. We have some top-ranked sports teams, too, if that's your thing. It's mainly the social life on campus that bugs me. You would not believe how many parties I've passed up because they were on Thursday nights. Really? Some of us have school in the morning and actually care how it goes. Many undergrad students still seem stuck in high school with their stupid cliques and immaturity and blah. I think the fact that it's a commuter school has a lot to do with all these issues.

Date: 2009-05-16 08:41 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] sensorium.livejournal.com
Ahhh, gotcha. I think this would be less of a problem on the graduate level, but I guess I'll just see. Hopefully.

Profile

nohanii: (Default)
Catherine

August 2011

S M T W T F S
  1234 56
7 89 10111213
141516171819 20
2122 2324252627
28293031   

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 10:46 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios