and rant

Feb. 11th, 2009 08:36 pm
nohanii: (Default)
[personal profile] nohanii
On another note, this pisses me off. Prior to this, she was subsisting on $500 in food stamps a month, disability payments for three of her children, student loans, and her parents' help -- and she insists that she's "not living off any taxpayer money." Riiiight, because food stamps and disability checks totally don't come out of taxpayers' pockets. Oh, and the hospital where the octuplets were born is looking for reimbursement from Medi-Cal, the state healthcare program for the poor (ie, funded by taxpayers). If she couldn't afford to raise the first six on her own, she shouldn't have had eight more. It's irresponsible and it's not fair that we have to pick up the slack for her stupidity. The state of California could be laying off 10,000 workers later this week, and we're supposed to spend tax money that we don't have on children that she knew she couldn't afford even before she chose to use fertility treatments to get pregnant??? Yeah, that makes sense. Even her own mother regards Nadya's actions as "unconscionable." Not only that, it was thoughtless to have so many children at one time because it adversly affects their health -- they're nearly always premature and often times several die because of that (none of them were even three pounds when born). The death threats against her are completely over the top. I can I understand why people are upset, but threatening to kill her? Come on, people. 

And
this is absolutely disgusting. I can't believe people who have supposedly dedicated their lives to upholding the law would do such a thing. I'm just... speechless and appalled. I don't know what to say. 

Edit: Awwww this is adorable.

Edit the second: party poopers

Date: 2009-02-12 08:11 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] aidenlane.livejournal.com
I didn't know anything about that woman and now I do and the pain. The pure rage and pain. Oh, it's not her stupidity, not fully. Like the article says, she's working the system. I'm not against the system because it does help people, it helped my mom and me while she was still in school (she had to drop out of SDSU to have me and go to a community college). It's when people abuse it because they rather not deal with life, that pisses me off. I heard she wants more kids. When I heard that, I thought she only had the octuplets. Now... I don't want to kill her but I want to punch her. Hard. I really think the person they quoted that said to have her kids adopted has the right idea. She doesn't deserve kids if she seemingly has them for the money. *rant rant rant* Why do people have to suck so much? Can I just hurt them all?

Date: 2009-02-12 04:18 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] honeystix.livejournal.com
I KNOW. I have absolutely no problem with people using the system when they need it (disability, unemployment, etc), but COME ON. It's not there so others can pay for your babies just because you want a huge family when you don't have a job or a S.O. to help support them. If she's going to get anything, she should only get what she herself has paid into it over the years because it was her stupid decision. I have a feeling she had the octuplets to get a tv/movie/book deal like the sextuplets got (ie, John and Kate Plus 8). People shouldn't have kids if they have no means of supporting them, and they shouldn't have a large number of them on purpose at once just for the fame factor.

Profile

nohanii: (Default)
Catherine

August 2011

S M T W T F S
  1234 56
7 89 10111213
141516171819 20
2122 2324252627
28293031   

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 03:19 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios